wadsworthCharles Wadsworth's Last Waltz: He comes out to the Memminger Auditorium stage to introduce his final concert as the Artistic Director for Spoleto Chamber Music. Wadsworth has been associated with chamber music presentations at either the “original” Festival of Two Worlds in Spoleto, Italy, or at the Spoleto Festival USA in Charleston since 1960, and one of the constants has been a season-ending performance of Schubert’s summary chamber work: the magnificent String Quintet in C, D. 956. Wadsworth’s farewell serenade is performed by the St. Lawrence String Quartet (whose first violinist Geoff Nuttall, will succeed Wadsworth at Spoleto), and guest cellist Alisa Weilerstein. Listen, too, for a special “flashback” performance featuring a young teenaged violinist at Spoleto named…Joshua Bell!

MOZART: Quartet in F for Oboe & Strings, K. 370: I

Douglas Boyd, oboe
Joshua Bell, violin
Scott Nickrenz, viola
Carter Brey, cello

SCHUBERT: String Quintet in C, D. 956

St. Lawrence String Quartet
Alisa Weilerstein, cello